CS Fund Announces Leadership Transition

The Board of Directors of the CS Fund announces that Executive Director Roxanne Turnage will be retiring at the end of this year. Roxanne began at the foundation in 1987 as a summer intern and has served as its Executive Director since 1997. Her tenure has been distinguished by her deep commitment to the CS Fund’s mission. Roxanne has been instrumental in shaping and executing our grantmaking, including efforts to protect civil liberties and the rule of law, promote environmentally sustainable and economically just trade, establish precautionary technology assessment, and advance food sovereignty and agroecology.

In Roxanne’s words, “It’s been an incredible privilege to work with CS Fund’s dedicated board, my talented and loyal staff, and our truly remarkable grantees. It’s also been an honor to learn from and collaborate with our funding colleagues. I’m deeply grateful for these relationships – some of which span many, many years – and take great satisfaction in what we’ve accomplished together.”

Maryanne Mott, who together with her husband Herman Warsh founded the CS Fund in 1981, remarks, “Roxanne has brought a sharp mind, passionate heart, operational discipline, creative leadership, and unique sense of style to our foundation. She will be well remembered and much missed.”

The Board of Directors has worked closely with Roxanne during this transition, and together we have selected her replacement with enthusiasm and ease. We are thrilled to announce that Bailey Malone will be stepping into the role of Executive Director. Bailey has been with CS Fund since 2008. She currently plays a dual role, serving as Deputy Director and directing the Rights and Governance program, which she will continue to oversee. We anticipate a seamless transition when she takes the reins as Executive Director in January 2017.

Bailey says, “I’m honored to be chosen to lead this incredible institution. Roxanne has been an incomparable mentor and friend and I’m looking forward to working with our extraordinary board of directors, staff, grantees, and colleagues to carry on the legacy she has helped build into the future.”

Please join us in recognizing and thanking Roxanne for her exemplary contributions to CS Fund and the greater field of progressive philanthropy, and in welcoming Bailey as she partners with us to lead CS Fund into its next chapter.

Marise Stewart, President
Corinne Meadows Efram, Vice President
Teresa Robinson, Secretary
Kau’i Keliipio, Treasurer
Michael Warsh, Trustee
Maryanne Mott, Trustee